Camp NaNoWriMo

Yes, I am one of the crazy NaNo people. I am one among many who pledge to write 50,000 words in 30 days. In recent years, I’ve become one of the crazy writers who commit to writing above that goal on a consistent basis. Why?

NaNoWriMo is an event that challenges an individual to write for a month. They want you to forget how good or bad it may be and just write. I don’t subscribe to their philosophy of not reading what you’ve written or not bothering to correct typos, but I see the wisdom in such things. For the people who have to make it perfect, it gives them the freedom to move on past the first page.

NaNo wants people from all different walks of life to discover the joys of writing. They want those who love to tell a story to keep on telling their stories. That’s an awesome goal, and I enjoy participating in it and creating awareness for it. While it is a free event, they ask for donations to keep their programs for young writers going. I’m always strapped for cash, so I do the next best thing: advertise for them.

Since I’ve yet to hear back from my editor, I shall embark on a new story tomorrow. I will not worry about what I will have waiting for me when the book ends and I’m again faced with the things to do relating to publishing my book. I will instead embrace the joy and adventure of starting a brand new story.

When I’m published, I plan to continue with NaNoWriMo to the best of my ability. NaNo has helped me produce and finish about seven stories.

The main event is held in November each year. They have since started Camp in two different months to accommodate those who cannot participate in November, and also for the people who like writing a book more than once a year.

If you’re a writer, I highly encourage you to try NaNo at least once. Even if you don’t reach your goal, you will at least start on your story. Sign up for Camp now!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

