Dreaming

I was talking about publishing recently. My boyfriend did the math of how much money I would make if I sold a million copies. I corrected the quoted figure, since Amazon would get a piece of each sale.

That conversation got me thinking. I know it’s my first book. I know that the chances are good that I will not sell anywhere close to a million copies. But a girl can dream, right?

If I sold a million copies, I could be debt-free. Employment wouldn’t be an issue. I would finally prove to myself as well as everyone else that I deserved to be a writer.

Then reality sets in. I don’t have to sell a million copies to prove to anyone that I deserve to be a writer. I am a writer. I write what’s on my heart. If people love it, that’s awesome. If people don’t, at least I’ve shared my story.

A friend of mine just debuted on Broadway. We knew each other in college. I don’t even know if she remembers me anymore. Anyway, she has made it. I’m excited for her, since a spot on Broadway is a coveted position for any actor or actress.

How do you get on Broadway? How you you sell a million books? How do you write and sell a song that ends up being a top hit?

There is no formula. Luck is a factor. Skill is undoubtedly a factor. The rest of the mysterious combination is hard work. Sometimes you work hard and nothing happens. That should never discourage anyone from working toward their goal.

How do you sell a million books? I have no idea, but I do know it starts with a dream. If you don’t dream, you aren’t looking toward the future.

Will the world crumble if you don’t ever achieve your dream? No. But you might learn something from following your dream that you could never learn any other way.

No matter what your goal is, keep dreaming. It will place you in an area where you will be positioned for greater things.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Dreaming

  1. True. And love what you write!

  2. Pingback: Dreaming | Tinseltown Times

Leave a Reply

