Whatever Your Hand Finds to Do

I was home schooled for the majority of grade school. The curriculum we used had a Scripture that the student was supposed to memorize and recite to the teacher at the end of the unit, as a component of our test. There were at least 25 the curriculum rotated through for twelve years. Students who had this system knew those verses pretty well. “Oh, it’s this verse again.”

One of the verses that was ingrained in my head during this time frame was Ecclesiastes 9:10. “Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might.”

It is a relatively simple verse, easy for young children to grasp. But the principle portrayed in that one verse has stuck with me for the rest of my life. No matter what you are doing, you are to give it your best. It sounds simple, but it can be very hard, especially if you don’t happen to like what you’re doing.

I work across the street from a tax service. This particular store hires people to dress up as Lady Liberty, hold a sign, and wave at the oncoming traffic, generally reminding the public that they exist. These people are not a new sight for me. I feel sorry for the ones outside on the cold, rainy days or when it’s so hot outside. But they’re generally always there during peak driving times.

2015-01-13 11.18.13

One day, as I’m about to go to work, I see this guy at his post. He had earphones in, and was clearly jamming to a song as he waved at the drivers. I watched him as I parked, and eventually had to take a picture (The picture doesn’t show him dancing, but trust me, he was). The song had probably changed, and he was just as enthusiastic in his movements as he was the first time. He looked like he was having the time of his life while holding a sign. It was about 40 degrees outside. None of that was apparent looking at him. He was having fun doing what he was doing. He was giving it his all, and he was doing it with excellence .

There’s not a lot of that these days. The drive-thru employees are generally not thrilled to be there, could not care less if your order is wrong, and get mad when you ask for what is rightfully yours. Everyone has bad days, but sometimes the overwhelming attitude of “I don’t want to be here” is apparent to all. It’s not just with the fast-food industry, but with those who earn a lower wage than most, that unhappiness is generally more apparent.

Now, I have no idea how much these sign holders make. I’m guessing it’s not much. Instead of the bored “I have to wave to you and others after you for the next four hours,” this guy was sending off the vibe of “I get to dance for the next four hours. Woohoo!”

This guy, to me, was an embodiment of the verse I shared at the beginning of the post. Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might. You may be just holding a sign, taking money, handing over orders, or answering the same question three dozen times within an hour. Whatever it is, do it to the best of your ability. Even if you want to do something different with your life than your current job, give your best at your current workplace. Customers and coworkers alike will notice it.

***I will not be posting next week, since I will be on my honeymoon. I will return to the blogging world in March, ready to release the book I meant to get out before Christmas. Thank you for your patience!***

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

